Day 11: My teenage movie crush

Josh Hartnett

By Ciara Midreé — October 12,  2017

(The actual poster that hung on my bedroom wall. All I had to do was google “Josh Hartnett milk”. X’s, O’s, and hearts added by me. Thanks, Internet!)

As a kid, I had many screen loves– Freddie Prince Jr. in “She’s All That”, Jesse Bradford in “Bring it On”, even Harry Potter for a hot second. But none of them could hold a candle to Josh. Hartnett. From “Pearl Harbor” to “Lucky Number Slevin”, he was my jam. I watched “Hollywood Homicide” because he was in it. “40 Days and 40 Nights” was a major part of my [awakening as a woman]. Later on, when I got older and got over my fear of “The Mummy” (1999), I fell for Brendan Fraser in “School Ties” and “Encino Man”. I had reached peak film fanatic adolescence– I started watching older movies that came out before I was old enough to watch them or before I was born. I discovered Cary Grant and Katharine Hepburn (together, apart, don’t matter!). I entertained ideas of Robert Redford, Michael Caine, Peter O’ Toole, Shah Rukh Khan, Colin Firth, and Orlando Bloom (only in that blonde wig tho).

But I’ll always have a special place in my heart for Josh. He can still get it.

HONORABLE MENTIONS:

Even though Josh Hartnett was mah main squeeze, teenage me had many loves:

  • Freddie Prinze, Jr. in She’s All That
  • Jesse Bradford in Bring It On 🎧

  • Oliver Wood from the Harry Potter and the Scorcer’s Stone movie
  • Orlando Bloom, but only in the wig. 💁🏼😄

My options really expanded after we got TCM, adding Katharine Hepburn, Michael Caine, Peter O’Toole, and Shah Rukh Khan to the mix. And of course I can’t forget Cary Grant and Colin Firth, my last teenage crushes and my forever loves. I adore them in everything they’re in; my love will never die.

Author: moviedive

Just a couple of people in the Midwest who’ve seen too many movies.

Leave a comment